Books/Reading

Book Review: The Jane Austen Society

Genre: Fiction | Historical FictionStars: 4-1/4 out of 5Synopsis from GoodReads: Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable.One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists.… Continue reading Book Review: The Jane Austen Society

Books/Reading

A Botanist’s Guide to Parties and Poisons

Genre: Historical Fiction | MysteryStars: 3-1/2 out of 5Synopsis from Goodreads: Saffron Everleigh is in a race against time to free her wrongly accused professor before he goes behind bars forever. Perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber, Kate Khavari’s debut historical mystery is a fast-paced, fearless adventure.London, 1923. Newly minted research… Continue reading A Botanist’s Guide to Parties and Poisons

Books/Reading

Book Review: Gods of Jade and Shadow

Genre: Historical Fiction | FantasyStar Rating: 4 out of 5 starsSynopsis from The StoryGraph: The Jazz Age is in full swing, but Casiopea Tun is too busy cleaning the floors of her wealthy grandfather’s house to listen to any fast tunes. Nevertheless, she dreams of a life far from her dusty small town in southern… Continue reading Book Review: Gods of Jade and Shadow

Books/Reading

Book Review: Yellow Wife

Genre: Historical fiction (US Civil War time period)Stars: 4-1/2 out of 5Synopsis from Goodreads: In the tradition of Wench and Twelve Years a Slave, this harrowing story follows an enslaved woman forced to barter love and freedom while living in the most infamous slave jail in Virginia. Born on a plantation in Charles City, Virginia, Pheby Brown was… Continue reading Book Review: Yellow Wife

Books/Reading

Book Review: Beasts of a Little Land

Genre: Historical fictionStars: 5 out of 5Synopsis from Goodreads: In 1917, deep in the snowy mountains of occupied Korea, an impoverished local hunter on the brink of starvation saves a young Japanese officer from an attacking tiger. In an instant, their fates are connected—and from this encounter unfolds a saga that spans half a century.… Continue reading Book Review: Beasts of a Little Land

Books/Reading

Book Review: The Last Mona Lisa

Genre: Fiction, historical fiction, art-history thriller.Star Rating: 4-1/4 out of 5Plot Summary from Goodreads: August, 1911: The Mona Lisa is stolen by Vincent Peruggia. Exactly what happens in the two years before its recovery is a mystery. Many replicas of the Mona Lisa exist, and more than one historian has wondered if the painting now… Continue reading Book Review: The Last Mona Lisa

Books/Reading

Book Review: The Forgotten Sister

Synopsis from Goodreads: In the tradition of the spellbinding historical novels of Philippa Gregory and Kate Morton comes a stunning story based on a real-life Tudor mystery, and of a curse that echoes through the centuries and shapes two women’s destinies…1560: Amy Robsart is trapped in a loveless marriage to Robert Dudley, a member of the… Continue reading Book Review: The Forgotten Sister

Books/Reading

Book Review: The Map of Time

Synopsis from Goodreads: This rollicking page-turner with a cast of real and imagined literary characters and cunning intertwined plots stars a skeptical H.G. Wells as a time-traveling investigator.Characters real and imaginary come vividly to life in this whimsical triple play of intertwined plots, in which a skeptical H. G. Wells is called upon to investigate… Continue reading Book Review: The Map of Time

Books/Reading

Book Review: The Last Daughter of York

Synopsis from Goodreads: In the winter of 1483, Francis Lovell is Richard III’s Lord Chamberlain and confidant, but the threat of Henry Tudor’s rebels has the king entrusting to Francis and his wife, Anne, his most crucial mission: protecting the young Richard of York, his brother’s surviving son and a threat to Henry’s claims to… Continue reading Book Review: The Last Daughter of York