Books/Reading

Book Review: The White Hare

This entrancing historical fiction takes place in 1954-55, following the story of Mila, a young mother to precocious Janey, and her mother Magda. Mila's relationship with Janey's father has fallen apart and her domineering mother has decided to remove the small family to a neglected manor house in Cornwall, where she plans to open a… Continue reading Book Review: The White Hare

Books/Reading

Book Review: Remarkably Bright Creatures

Genre: FictionStar Rating: 4-1/2 out of 5Synopsis from Goodreads: After Tova Sullivan's husband died, she began working the night shift at the Sowell Bay Aquarium, mopping floors and tidying up. Keeping busy has always helped her cope, which she's been doing since her eighteen-year-old son, Erik, mysteriously vanished on a boat in Puget Sound over… Continue reading Book Review: Remarkably Bright Creatures

Books/Reading

Book Review: The Sewing Girl’s Tale

Genre: Nonfiction | History | Women's StudiesStar Rating: 4-1/4 out of 5Synopsis from The StoryGraph: When Lanah raised her voice, she was dismissed as a mere “sewing-girl,” led astray by romantic delusions. But she refused to stay silent. Her accusation sparked a sensational courtroom drama and a relentless struggle for vindication that divided both Lanah’s… Continue reading Book Review: The Sewing Girl’s Tale

Books/Reading

Book Review: Gold Diggers

Genre: Fiction with a bit of magical realismStar Rating: 3-1/2 out of 5Synopsis from The StoryGraph: Spanning two continents, two coasts, and four epochs, Gold Diggers expertly balances social satire and magical realism in a classic striver story that skewers the model minority narrative, asking what a community must do to achieve the American dream. In razor… Continue reading Book Review: Gold Diggers

Books/Reading

Book Review: The Warmth of Other Suns

Genre: Nonfiction | History (US)Stars: 5 out of 5Synopsis from The StoryGraph: In this beautifully written masterwork, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Isabel Wilkerson chronicles one of the great untold stories of American history: the decades-long migration of black citizens who fled the South for northern and western cities, in search of a better life. From 1915… Continue reading Book Review: The Warmth of Other Suns

Books/Reading

A Botanist’s Guide to Parties and Poisons

Genre: Historical Fiction | MysteryStars: 3-1/2 out of 5Synopsis from Goodreads: Saffron Everleigh is in a race against time to free her wrongly accused professor before he goes behind bars forever. Perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber, Kate Khavari’s debut historical mystery is a fast-paced, fearless adventure.London, 1923. Newly minted research… Continue reading A Botanist’s Guide to Parties and Poisons

Books/Reading

Book Review: Woman, Watching

Genre: Nonfiction | BiographyStars: 4-1/4 out of 5Synopsis from Goodreads: Referred to as a Canadian Rachel Carson, Louise de Kiriline Lawrence lived and worked in an isolated log cabin near North Bay. After her husband was murdered by Bolsheviks, she refused her Swedish privilege and joined the Canadian Red Cross, visiting her northern Ontario patients… Continue reading Book Review: Woman, Watching

Books/Reading

Book Review: Women Healers

Genre: Nonfiction | HistoryStars: 3-1/2 out of 5Synopsis from The StoryGraph: In her eighteenth-century medical recipe manuscript, the Philadelphia healer Elizabeth Coates Paschall asserted her ingenuity and authority with the bold strokes of her pen. Paschall developed an extensive healing practice, consulted medical texts, and conducted experiments based on personal observations. As British North America's… Continue reading Book Review: Women Healers