Books/Reading

A Botanist’s Guide to Parties and Poisons

Genre: Historical Fiction | MysteryStars: 3-1/2 out of 5Synopsis from Goodreads: Saffron Everleigh is in a race against time to free her wrongly accused professor before he goes behind bars forever. Perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber, Kate Khavari’s debut historical mystery is a fast-paced, fearless adventure.London, 1923. Newly minted research… Continue reading A Botanist’s Guide to Parties and Poisons

Books/Reading

Book Review: Woman, Watching

Genre: Nonfiction | BiographyStars: 4-1/4 out of 5Synopsis from Goodreads: Referred to as a Canadian Rachel Carson, Louise de Kiriline Lawrence lived and worked in an isolated log cabin near North Bay. After her husband was murdered by Bolsheviks, she refused her Swedish privilege and joined the Canadian Red Cross, visiting her northern Ontario patients… Continue reading Book Review: Woman, Watching

Books/Reading

Book Review: Women Healers

Genre: Nonfiction | HistoryStars: 3-1/2 out of 5Synopsis from The StoryGraph: In her eighteenth-century medical recipe manuscript, the Philadelphia healer Elizabeth Coates Paschall asserted her ingenuity and authority with the bold strokes of her pen. Paschall developed an extensive healing practice, consulted medical texts, and conducted experiments based on personal observations. As British North America's… Continue reading Book Review: Women Healers

Books/Reading

Book Review: This Woven Kingdom

Genre: YA FantasyStars: 4 out of 5Synopsis from Goodreads: Clashing empires, forbidden romance, and a long-forgotten queen destined to save her people—bestselling author Tahereh Mafi’s first in an epic, romantic trilogy inspired by Persian mythology. To all the world, Alizeh is a disposable servant, not the long-lost heir to an ancient Jinn kingdom forced to… Continue reading Book Review: This Woven Kingdom

Books/Reading

Book Review: Yellow Wife

Genre: Historical fiction (US Civil War time period)Stars: 4-1/2 out of 5Synopsis from Goodreads: In the tradition of Wench and Twelve Years a Slave, this harrowing story follows an enslaved woman forced to barter love and freedom while living in the most infamous slave jail in Virginia. Born on a plantation in Charles City, Virginia, Pheby Brown was… Continue reading Book Review: Yellow Wife

Books/Reading

Book Review: Beasts of a Little Land

Genre: Historical fictionStars: 5 out of 5Synopsis from Goodreads: In 1917, deep in the snowy mountains of occupied Korea, an impoverished local hunter on the brink of starvation saves a young Japanese officer from an attacking tiger. In an instant, their fates are connected—and from this encounter unfolds a saga that spans half a century.… Continue reading Book Review: Beasts of a Little Land

Books/Reading

Book Review: One Day

Genre: NonfictionStar Rating: 4 out of 5Synopsis from Goodreads: On New Year's Day 2013, two-time Pulitzer Prize-winner Gene Weingarten asked three strangers to, literally, pluck a day, month, and year from a hat. That day--chosen completely at random--turned out to be Sunday, December 28, 1986, by any conventional measure a most ordinary day. Weingarten spent… Continue reading Book Review: One Day