Books/Reading

Book Review: Remarkably Bright Creatures

Genre: FictionStar Rating: 4-1/2 out of 5Synopsis from Goodreads: After Tova Sullivan's husband died, she began working the night shift at the Sowell Bay Aquarium, mopping floors and tidying up. Keeping busy has always helped her cope, which she's been doing since her eighteen-year-old son, Erik, mysteriously vanished on a boat in Puget Sound over… Continue reading Book Review: Remarkably Bright Creatures

Books/Reading

Book Review: The Soul of an Octopus

Genre: Nonfiction | ScienceStars: 4-1/2 out of 5Synopsis from The Storygraph: In this astonishing book from the author of the bestselling memoir The Good Good Pig, Sy Montgomery explores the emotional and physical world of the octopus--a surprisingly complex, intelligent, and spirited creature--and the remarkable connections it makes with humans. Octopuses have varied personalities and intelligence… Continue reading Book Review: The Soul of an Octopus

Books/Reading

Book Review: The Sewing Girl’s Tale

Genre: Nonfiction | History | Women's StudiesStar Rating: 4-1/4 out of 5Synopsis from The StoryGraph: When Lanah raised her voice, she was dismissed as a mere “sewing-girl,” led astray by romantic delusions. But she refused to stay silent. Her accusation sparked a sensational courtroom drama and a relentless struggle for vindication that divided both Lanah’s… Continue reading Book Review: The Sewing Girl’s Tale

Books/Reading

Book Review: Gold Diggers

Genre: Fiction with a bit of magical realismStar Rating: 3-1/2 out of 5Synopsis from The StoryGraph: Spanning two continents, two coasts, and four epochs, Gold Diggers expertly balances social satire and magical realism in a classic striver story that skewers the model minority narrative, asking what a community must do to achieve the American dream. In razor… Continue reading Book Review: Gold Diggers

Books/Reading

Book Review: The Warmth of Other Suns

Genre: Nonfiction | History (US)Stars: 5 out of 5Synopsis from The StoryGraph: In this beautifully written masterwork, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Isabel Wilkerson chronicles one of the great untold stories of American history: the decades-long migration of black citizens who fled the South for northern and western cities, in search of a better life. From 1915… Continue reading Book Review: The Warmth of Other Suns

Books/Reading

Book Review: The Jane Austen Society

Genre: Fiction | Historical FictionStars: 4-1/4 out of 5Synopsis from GoodReads: Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable.One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists.… Continue reading Book Review: The Jane Austen Society

Books/Reading

A Botanist’s Guide to Parties and Poisons

Genre: Historical Fiction | MysteryStars: 3-1/2 out of 5Synopsis from Goodreads: Saffron Everleigh is in a race against time to free her wrongly accused professor before he goes behind bars forever. Perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber, Kate Khavari’s debut historical mystery is a fast-paced, fearless adventure.London, 1923. Newly minted research… Continue reading A Botanist’s Guide to Parties and Poisons

Books/Reading

Book Review: The Stranger in the Woods

Genre: Nonfiction | BiographyStar Rating: 3-1/2 out of 5 starsSynopsis from The StoryGraph: In 1986, a shy and intelligent twenty-year-old named Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the forest. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later, when he was arrested… Continue reading Book Review: The Stranger in the Woods

Books/Reading

Book Review: Turn Right at Machu Picchu

Genre: Nonfiction | History/World TravelStar Rating: 4 out of 5Synopsis from Goodreads: July 24, 1911, was a day for the history books. For on that rainy morning, the young Yale professor Hiram Bingham III climbed into the Andes Mountains of Peru and encountered an ancient city in the clouds: the now famous citadel of Machu… Continue reading Book Review: Turn Right at Machu Picchu